clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

These 15 Indiana counties can now join the state’s effort to pay for preschool for poor 4-year-olds

Megan Mangrum/Chalkbeat

Indiana today announced the 15 additional counties that will be able to use state grants allowing low-income 4-year-olds to attend preschool.

The counties were added to the program earlier this year when the Indiana General Assembly voted to nearly double state funding, up to $22 million per year. Now, 20 counties total will be able to take part in the state’s preschool program.

The new counties are Bartholomew, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Floyd, Grant, Harrison, Howard, Kosciusko, Madison, Marshall, Monroe, St. Joseph, Tippecanoe and Vigo.

Allen, Jackson, Lake, Marion and Vanderburgh counties will continue to participate. Their programs began in 2015 when the state first voted to fund preschool.

According to Gov. Eric Holcomb’s office, preschools in the additional 15 counties can begin enrolling students in the state program in fall 2018, though limited enrollment could begin as early as January 2018.

Counties were chosen based on how many students would be eligible and whether the county was considered rural or urban, among other factors. The law instructed the state to prioritize rural counties.

Read more about how lawmakers expanded the state preschool program here, and see the rest of their education policy decisions this year here.

The COVID-19 outbreak is changing our daily reality

Chalkbeat is a nonprofit newsroom dedicated to providing the information families and educators need, but this kind of work isn't possible without your help.

Connect with your community

Find upcoming Indiana events

Sign up for the The Starting Line Newsletter

A monthly roundup of early childhood stories from across the country.