clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

These are the 10 finalists for 2020 Teacher of the Year in Indianapolis Public Schools

Students at the newcomer school, where a teacher was named one of the 10 finalists for IPS Teacher of the Year.
Students at the newcomer school, where a teacher was named one of the 10 finalists for IPS Teacher of the Year.
Dylan Peers McCoy

Indianapolis Public Schools named 10 finalists Monday for Teacher of the Year, including two teachers from the district’s popular Center for Inquiry magnet schools.

The educators were chosen by a selection committee from among building-level winners. One of the finalists, nominated from schools across the district, will be selected as the 2020 Teacher of the Year later this month.

The current Teacher of the Year is Alexandria Stewart, a middle school teacher at the Center for Inquiry at School 70.

If one of the two finalists from Center for Inquiry magnet schools were selected as the winner, it would be the fifth year in a row that the district teacher of the year came from one of those programs, which are sought-after by middle-class families.

The Center for Inquiry schools offer the International Baccalaureate program, and they are often at the center of criticism that Indianapolis Public Schools is a district of haves and have-nots. Admission rules give white families an edge in winning spots at some of the most popular magnet schools, according to a district analysis.

The list of finalists also includes teachers from four neighborhood schools, two other magnet schools, an innovation school, and a special program for students who are new to the country.

Here is the complete list

Brian Hoover, Center for Inquiry School 2

Julie Busch, William McKinley School 39

Ethan Hoffman, Newcomer Program

Lori Schneider, Anna Brochhausen School 88

Sabbath McKiernan-Allen, Thomas Gregg Neighborhood School

Rhuperdia Clay, Brookside School 54

Andrew Bartolacci, George W. Julian School 57

Bethany Jackson, Henry W. Longfellow Medical/STEM Middle School 28

Christina Shaul, Theodore Potter School 74

Allison Powell, Center for Inquiry School 70

Help Chalkbeat raise $80k by Dec 31

Chalkbeat is a nonprofit newsroom filling a vital community need. We could not do this without you, and we need your support to keep going in 2022.

Connect with your community

Find upcoming Indiana events

Sign up for the How I Teach Newsletter

A monthly roundup of stories for educators from across the country.